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The Time Limits They Are
a-Changin' – Again
My second Arbiter’s Notebook (April 1998) was entitled “The Time Limits They Are
a-Changin’...” In that Notebook we take a look at what has happened with time limits during my
career as a chess arbiter. And when you read that Notebook (it can be found in the
ChessCafe.com Archives) you will discover that the changes were very drastic. But to be honest,
everyone accepted the changes without any discussion. This is not the case with the new proposed
time limit. I received two questions on this topic.

Question Dear Mister Gijssen, I am very worried about the intention of the Presidential Board of
FIDE regarding the new time limit. The President and the Board have violated the FIDE Statutes.
They took decisions they were not entitled to. Do you agree with me, that the Qualification
Commission headed by Mister Markkula and the Rules Committee headed by you should urgently
request the President to stop this business? You can be sure that I will support you and I am also
sure that the other members shall do the same. Please inform us about your steps. Rolf Maeser
(Switzerland)

Answer First of all I have to inform the readers that Mr. Maeser is a member of the Rules
Committee and he was very active during our meetings in Istanbul. Regarding his questions, I
would like to answer as follows: in principle the time limit is not the responsibility of the Rules
Committee. The new time limit is not in conflict with the Laws of Chess. Therefore I did not
protest against it. A second point is that on the electronic clocks we are using the new time limit
can be implemented. By the way, during the meeting of the Presidential Board in New Delhi, the
proposed time limit was: 40 moves in 90 minutes, then 20 minutes for the remaining moves with
an additional 30 seconds per move in the second period. I explained to the Presidential Board that
this time limit would cause several problems:

(1)   At the end of the first period we will have a lot of time-pressure problems; players will not
write the moves when they have less than 5 minutes on the clock. Furthermore, in tournaments
with many participants, many games will have to be reconstructed to find out what happened.

(2)   The electronic clocks we use at the moment do not have the proposed option. Clocks will
have to have this new time limit and tournament organisers and federations will be forced to buy
new ones.

The Presidential Board agreed and changed the time limit to 40 moves in 75 minutes, then 15
minutes for the remaining moves with 30 seconds per move added from move 1.  

You can say that my actions were related to my position as Chairman of the Rules Committee. As
an arbiter and a person who knows a little bit about what is going on in the chess world, I had
some doubts. I was told that the new time limit was, in the opinion of a marketing company, more
attractive for television. I have not seen any report that confirms this statement. I pointed out that I
would have preferred studies to find out what is the better medium for chess, television or the
internet. I did not make any investigation and I cannot prove that I am right, but I have the feeling
that right now the internet is more important for chess than television. Furthermore, I am not sure
that a 4-hour game is more attractive for television than a 7-hour one. Games of a maximum of 1
hour are attractive, as has been shown in several countries.

It is my opinion that the Qualification Commission must be involved. The Title Regulations of
FIDE describe the requirements for an international title tournament. As far as I can see, the new
time limit does not fit with these regulations. It is clear that either the time limit or the regulations
must be changed.

Finally I would like to make the following remark: I have the impression that the general
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dissatisfaction also has to do with the procedure. Many delegates are saying that only the General
Assembly, and not the Presidential Board, may decide this question. But I understood that the
General Assembly left the final decision to the Presidential Board.

Question Mr. Gijssen, I will just pose two questions of informational nature. First, when is the
new time-control official. Is it 1.1.2001 or 1.7.2001. Second, what about tournaments with slower
time-controls (e.g. 2h/40 + 1h). Will they be recognized and rated by FIDE? Is there an official
statement with regards to this particular matter on behalf of FIDE? What is your personal opinion
about the new time-control? Dimitris Skyrianoglou (Greece)

Answer To start with the second question, see my answer to Mr. Maeser. I saw on the internet a
statement from the President of FIDE that the new time limit would be used in tournaments
related to the World Championships (Zonal Tournaments, Continental Championships, World
Championship K.O. Tournaments). I am not sure when they will take effect. According to the
International Title Regulations of FIDE (Qualification Commission) Article 0.21, “such changes
will come into effect on 1st July of the year following the decisions by the General Assembly. For
tournaments, such changes will apply to those starting on or after that date.”

In the current regulations it is written that “the speed of play must not exceed 46 moves in two
hours at any stage of the game except that a sudden death (quickplay finish) final time control of
at least 30 minutes may be used in a tournament with games lasting at least seven hours.”

As you can see, it is stated that “faster games” are forbidden for achieving a title norm. I am sure
that this will not be changed. It means “slower games” are allowed.

Question Dear Geurt, I have two questions regarding the new Laws of Chess coming into force
July 1, 2001. Article 5.1.a says: The game is won by the player who has checkmated his
opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the
checkmate position was a legal move. I think I understand this Article perfectly, especially that the
checkmate must be produced with a legal move. Well-known was the trick 1. e4 e5 2. Bc4 Bc5 3.
Qf7# but not with a legal move. Now my question: Suppose in a normal game the position is as
follows: White: Kh6, Rb7, Black Kf8, Ra5, all other pieces are not relevant. It is Black’s move.
Black has the intention to play Kg8, but, unfortunately for him, he played the illegal move Kf8-h8.
The arbiter sees this, wants to interfere, but before he is able to do so, White plays Rb8,
checkmating his opponent’s king. White claims that with this legal move the game is over as
described in Article 5.1a. What is your opinion? Dr. H.Elgendy (Egypt)

Answer It is helpful to recall the discussions in the Rules Committee during the Congress in
Istanbul. I suggested that Article 5.1a should be: “The game is won by the player who has
checkmated his opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that all moves are
legal.” This proposal was rejected and as a good democrat I accepted the decision of the majority
of the Rules Committee and the General Assembly. Before answering to your question, I give
another example: 1. e4 e5 2. Bc4 Bc5 3 Qh5 f6 (illegal move!) Qf7 # (legal move!?!). Now let us
refer to Article 7.4.a. It says: “If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been made, the
position immediately before the irregularity shall be reinstated.”

In the case you mention above, if the arbiter saw the illegal move during the game, I think he
should place the king back on f8 and invite the black player to make a legal move with the king.

More difficult is the situation if the arbiter had not seen the illegal move, but Black claimed or
discovered, after his king was checkmated, that his king was illegally moved to h8. If we look to
the letter of this Article, the arbiter would decide that the game is lost. But what will be the
decision if we look to the spirit of this Article or the spirit of the Laws of Chess generally? For
this I like to refer again to the Preface of the Laws of Chess:

1.The Laws of Chess cannot cover all possible situations that may arise in a game. 2.
The arbiter has necessary competence and sound judgment. 3. Too detailed a rule
might deprive the arbiter of his freedom of judgment and thus prevent him from
finding the solution to a problem dictated by fairness, logic and special factors.  

I would never blame an arbiter who accepted the checkmate move and as a consequence of this
the end of the game, but I am sure that in some cases another decision is a better one.
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Finally, it is much easier to follow the Laws of Chess strictly, but there are cases that an arbiter
should try to find another solution for the problem.

Question My second question is related to Article 7.4.b. It says:” After the action taken under
Article 7.4.a, for the first two illegal moves by a player the arbiter shall give two minutes extra
time to his opponent in each instance; for a third illegal move by the same player, the arbiter shall
declare the game lost by this player.  My question is: suppose the opponent has a bare king, is the
result still 1-0 or 0-1? Or are there other possibilities?

Answer Let me start with a general remark: If a game is lost for one player, it does not always
mean always, that the game is won for his opponent. Let me give you an example. White has a
king and rook and Black only a king. White refuses persistently to comply with the Laws of
Chess. According to Article 12.7 the arbiter has the option of declaring the game lost by White. In
the same Article 12.7 it is also written that the arbiter shall decide the score of the opponent. Well,
in my opinion we have here such a case. White made for the third time an illegal move. It can be
considered as persistent refusal to comply with the Laws of Chess.

I would not be surprised if some readers disagreed with me. They would probably refer to Article
6.10. In Article 6.10 it is written that a player will lose the game when he oversteps the time.
However, the game is drawn, if the position is such that the opponent (in our case Black) cannot
checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves, even with the most unskilled
counterplay. And I understand that these readers would say that this case is analogous to the case
mentioned in Dr. Elgendy’s question, but I think there is one important difference. A player who
makes an illegal move for the third time is penalised and overstepping the time is not an action
that is penalised, although the result is generally the same. Conclusion: If a player makes an illegal
move for a third time, the game is lost for him, but the opponent, who cannot checkmate him,
even with the most unskilled counterplay, receives half a point.

Question Dear Mr. Gijssen, I am an arbiter in the Dutch competition, KNSB as well as locally. I
have a question regarding the penalty for mobile phone/beeper etc. Before each match, I announce
that I will penalise the failure to turn off the cell/mobile phone by loss of the game for the party
involved. A fellow arbiter thought this a very severe penalty; he always gave a warning. Now I
know it is up to the arbiter to decide what penalty to give in such situations. I think by always
giving the same penalty I'm being consistent. My fellow arbiter however thought the decision was
against the "spirit" of the chess rules, although in some situations, he would also apply this
penalty. What is your view in this matter? Maurice Janssen (The Netherlands)

Answer I agree with you that ringing mobile phones is an increasing problem. It seems that at the
moment everybody has one and forgets to switch off it. In New Delhi, during the World Chess
Championships, it was posted that spectators would be fined 500 rupias. I heard many ringing
mobiles, but I did not see anybody fined. The same problem occurred during the Olympiad in
Istanbul. In one case I took the badge of the person whose phone was ringing and had this person
removed from the playing hall. Later I was told that people received a badge when they gave their
credit card. I do not know what happened with the credit card.

About a year ago there was a serious incident in the Belgian League. The mobile of one of the
players was ringing and, following the instructions of the federation, the arbiter declared the game
lost.

This matter has never been discussed in the Rules Committee. I had in mind to discuss it in
Istanbul, but it was impossible to do so due to a lack of time.

In my opinion, to declare the game lost is too severe. I recommend the following procedure:

1. Before the start of every round I announce that all mobile phones must be shut off. 2. I also
inform the players that I will give an official warning when the mobile rings for the first time but
declare the game lost when it happens the second time.

Question Dear Mr Gijssen I hope that this subject will not be tiresome to readers but I wish to
take the argument further with Mr Richard Haddrell on the use of sum of progressive scores (PS)
as a tiebreaker. To recapitulate, I gave the example of two players, A and B with the following
results in a 6-round tournament: A scored 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0; B scored 0, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1.I must concede
that I could be somewhat hasty in saying that B performed better against stronger opposition but
let us examine this issue a little more closely. The table below has the round-by-round results of
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the two players, assuming that the opponents of A and B were not floaters:

 Player A Player B

Round Opponent Points Result Opponent Points Result
1 A1 0 W B1 0 L
2 A2 1 W B2 0 W
3 A3 2 W B3 1 W
4 A4 3 W B4 2 W
5 A5 4 W B5 3 W
6 A6 5 L B6 4 W

It is now quite clear that the wins of both A and B were scored against opponents with the same
“points” (highlighted in the table). The only difference is the losses: A lost to A6, a “5-pointer”
while B lost to B1, a “0-pointer”. However, consider the possibility that B1 was the same player
as A6, that is, after beating B, B1 went on to win another 4 games to meet A in the final round.
Should this happen, then both A and B lost to the same player, besides beating players with
identical points. Yet, based on PS, A had 20 tiebreak points whereas B had only 15.

Even if B1 was not A6, B1 might not necessarily be a weak player. Therefore, whatever tiebreak
system is used, we should not expect such a big difference in the tiebreak points. Buchholz points
may be a better reflection of the relative rankings in such a situation. Mr. Haddrell questions why
wins against strong opposition should outweigh losses against weak ones. Again, note that B1
might not be a weak player. If this was indeed the case, why should B be penalised for a bad start,
due to an unintended bias in the pairing?

One more point I like to raise is regarding the so-called “Swiss Gambit”. I think we can all agree
that the main purpose of any tiebreak system is to ensure as fair a ranking as possible, and not so
much to prevent people from taking advantage of its weaknesses. The latter goal could be futile
because, as we all noted, whatever system is used, is not perfect. A tiebreak system should be
acceptable so long as its advantages, on balance, are greater than its weaknesses. I am not sure
whether the PS system fits the bill. Chan Tat Wong (Singapore)

Comment I agree completely with you.

P.S. Tomorrow is the start of the Dubai Open Tournament. The rounds start at 17.00. At about
18.45 hrs the most important part of the day for Moslems starts: praying time. Part of the
regulations is that the games will be interrupted for about 10 minutes, everybody has to leave the
playing hall, may go outside, to the cafeteria of the chess club and after an announcement, return
to the playing hall. I must admit that such a rule is new for me, but the organisers assured me that
in the previous Open Tournaments in Dubai this rule did not cause any problem. I will keep the
readers of Chesscafe.com informed.

Have a question for Geurt Gijssen? Perhaps he will respond to it in a future column. Send it to
hwr@chesscafe.com. Please include your name and country of residence.

Copyright 2001 Geurt Gijssen. All Rights Reserved.
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